You are here

Combat Archery Authorization Self-Test

You got 7 of 18 possible points.
Your score was: 39 %

Question Results

The following answers were incorrect:

Score 0 of 1

Question:

What is the minimum distance at which a combat archer can shoot at an opponent?

Response:

a. 6 feet

b. 10 feet

c. There is no minimum distance, but the arrow or bolt must completely clear the limb of the bow or the prod of the crossbow before striking the target to be considered good.

d. There is no minimum distance.  The ammunition does not need to clear the weapon to be considered good.

Score 0 of 1

Question:

If gleaning is allowed in the scenario, what must the archer do before firing tubular ammunition picked up from the ground?

Response:

a. Nothing. Tubular ammo can be re-fired at any time

b. Make sure the tail is round, the head is secure and undamaged, and the tube is clear of debris.

c. Make sure the head is red and securely attached and the label is correct

d. Make sure the tail is round and the label is correct.

Score 0 of 1

Question:

When are armored combatants engaged with a combat archer?

Response:

a. At all times when they are on the field with a combat archer. 

b. Only when they are in range of the archer.

c. Only when they are facing the archer. 

d. Both b and c.

Score 0 of 1

Question:

When can a Combat Archer pick up and use tubular ammunition from the ground?

Response:

a. Never.

b. Anytime the scenario allows gleaning.

c. Only if the scenario allows it and the archer has properly re-inspected it before using it.

d. Only if it was dropped unfired.

Score 0 of 1

Question:

In a battle that includes combat archery, when/where can combatants remove their helms or other armor?

Response:

a. As soon as they are away from other fighters.

b. In the buffer zone.

c. Once they are outside the buffer zone.

d. Where the combat archers have cached their extra ammunition.

Score 0 of 1

Question:

Can CA arrows and crossbow bolts be blocked?

Response:

a. Yes, but only by shields (and pavises). 

b. Yes, but only by armored combat weapons. 

c. Yes, by both shields (and pavises) and armored combat weapons.

d. No.

Score 0 of 1

Question:

Once “HOLD” has been called, when can an archer nock an arrow or put a bolt in their crossbow?

Response:

a. Any time, as long as the ammunition is pointing at the ground.

b. As soon as “on your guard” or “make ready” (or equivalent) has been called.

c. Not until “lay on” has been called.

d. Doesn’t matter.

Score 0 of 1

Question:

Where can you find the instructions for making Middle Kingdom Combat Archery ammunition?

Response:

a. Middle Kingdom Combat Archery Rules.

b. Society Marshal’s Handbook. 

c. The 35-Foot Spear website.

d. Middle Kingdom Armored Combat Handbook.

Score 0 of 1

Question:

If a Combat Archer has a pavise, when can he draw/cock or fire his bow/crossbow?

Response:

a. Only after the pavise has been set down.

b. Any time.

c. While he is carrying the pavise on a shoulder strap.

d. Never, because a combat archer cannot carry a pavise.

Score 0 of 1

Question:

What are the minimum and maximum allowed lengths for all Combat Archery crossbow bolts?

Response:

a. 12 inches minimum and 28 inches maximum.

b. No minimum and 26 inches maximum.

c. No minimum and 28 inches maximum.

d. 12 inches minimum and 26 inches maximum.

Score 0 of 1

Question:

What are the minimum hand and wrist armor requirements for Combat Archers? (and siege engineers, and fighters using thrown weapons)

Response:

a. Full gauntlets

b. Half gauntlets

c. Leather gloves

d. Street hockey gloves